Kale bagels


Kale bagels

You can only see one hole, but these are all bagels and not rolls!

I’ve never made bread before, I decided to correct that and use up some of my huge supply of kale at the same time.  This recipe is lifted entirely from the amazing book Hearty Vegan Meals for Monster Appetites by Celine Steen and Joni Marie Newman, page 187.

Sadly, I’m not allowed to reproduce the recipe on my blog, but I can tell you that the basic difference between making bagels and other kinds of bread is to place the bagels in a pan of boiling water and bicarbonate of soda for a minute before baking.

I marinaded the kale before-hand keeping closely to the recipe Kale with a Kick in the same book, page 172, using cloudberry jam, tahini, rice mirin, shoyu, groundnut oil, garlic, onion, sesame oil and chilli powder.

One thought on “Kale bagels

Leave a Reply

